Cricket history international recent

ICC World Cup records just before Cricket World Cup 2015

ICC Cricket World Cup is a one day international (ODI) tournament in men’s cricket which is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The ICC Cricket World Cup has taken place every four years since its beginning in 1975 in England. Since then, the number of participated teams and number of matches have increased. However, ICC declared an interest in reducing the format of the game following criticism of ICC World Cup 2007.

ICC World Cup 2015: The mega-event of cricket

The World Cup Cricket is the flagship event of international cricket calendar. The tournament takes place every four years, with matches contested in a 50 -over cricket format.

Also Read: Top 10 maximum run scorers in ICC Cricket World Cup

                    Top 15 interesting facts about ICC world cup 2015

The 2015 edition of ICC World Cup cricket will be the 11th of this tournament. This mega event will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand. Previously in 1992, the two countries combined to jointly host this gigantic event of world cricket.

ICC World Cup is one of the world’s largest international sports tournaments. In World Cup 2015, there will be 14 teams competing each other. This event of cricket will be engaging one fifth of the world’s population with expected television audience of more than a billion.

ICC World Cup records just before Cricket World Cup 2015, icc trophy
ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy ; image credit

There have been a total of ten world cups since its beginning in 1975. Out of this ten tournaments, Australia has emerged as the most successful World Cup team ever in the history. Australians have won the elusive trophy 4 times, next in line are India and West Indies who have won it twice. Sri Lanka and Pakistan won the trophy only once. India, the last defending champion in 2011, will enter the ICC World Cup 2015 in Australia in the hope for retaining their title and become the second most successful ODI team in the World Cup history after Australia.

There is a wise saying that, records are made to be broken. For this, several players and teams will be trying to fulfil their dreams of lifting the ICC Cricket World Cup trophy and giving the best performance ever. So, Sporty Ghost brings to you the list of ICC World Cup records that have been set so far.

Also Read: Australia to enter the world cup at number one rank

                    Pressure is still South Africa’s ultimate opponent

ICC World Cup records: The preview

Most runs in World Cups

ICC World Cup records just before Cricket World Cup 2015, Sachin Tendulkar, most runs
Sachin Tendulkar ; image credit

The Indian legend Sachin Tendulkar is the most successful batsman in all the ICC cricket World Cups ever held. With 2278 runs in 45 world cup matches, Sachin is the highest runs getter. Australia captain Ricky Ponting is at second place while the West Indian Brian Lara being the third with the average of 45.86 and 42.24 respectively. There is hardly anyone recently in the line who is going to challenge these great batsmen. So sadly in this 2015 ICC World Cup, we will not be able to see anyone breaking Sachin’s record. It will certainly take some time.

Highest Individual Score

ICC World Cup records just before Cricket World Cup 2015, Gary Kirsten, highest individual score,
Highest Individual scorer ; image credit

South African left handed batsman Gary Kirsten has the highest individual score in world cup, which is 188 not out against UAE. There are few promising batsmen, who can be a threat to this record. South African skipper AB de Villiers, the record holder of fastest ODI century will be a threat indeed. However, batsmen like Tilkaratne Dilshan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli will not just sit down and watch. Well as this record is open to all, every batsmen dreams of breaking this record.

Most Successful Bowler

ICC World Cup records just before Cricket World Cup 2015, Glenn McGrath, most successful bowler
Glenn McGrath ; image credit

Australian bowler Glen McGrath is still the most successful bowler in the history of World Cup. McGrath grabbed 71 wickets at an economy rate of 3.97. Muttaih Muralidharan of Sri Lanka and Wasim Akram of Pakistan are the next most successful world cup bowlers respectively. In this ICC World Cup 2015, everyone’s eye will be on Sri Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga who will still playing in the world cup and he can challenge the record of highest wicket takers in World Cup cricket. Otherwise, this record will be there for a long haul.

Best Bowling Figures

Again Australian Glen McGrath holds the best bowling figures in any ICC World Cups. He got 7 wickets in 7 overs giving away only 15 runs in a world cup match against Namibia. The record can still be broken and awaits a new leader.

Also Read: Top 10 most earning cricketers in the world 2015

                    Top 10 best wicket keepers in current cricket

                    Top 10 best spin bowlers in current cricket

Most Successful Fielder

Australian captain Ricky Ponting is by far the best fielder in the world cup history. He holds the record of most number of catches in world cups that is, 28 catches in 46 world cup matches. The next two cricketers in this line are Sanath Jayasuria and Chris Cairns of New Zealand respectively. This record will also be staying to Ponting’s hand for a long time since there is no player in the top 20 who could challenge Ricky Ponting’s record.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.